• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Becoming an animator.

Anime News Network Forum Index -> General -> Anime
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pingo

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 5:39 pm Reply with quote
Cheers mates.

I have been thinking!Very Happy Im a 18 year old individual, currently working in a mall^_^

I have been bothered alot lately by the fact that I don't know what I want to do with my life. One of the things I have always done since I was very little was drawing. I have done it all my life, even though im not very good at it. I made drawings on my homework and exam papers too^_~

So I was thinking about becoming an animator. I read this great article: animenewsnetwork.com/columns/answerman.php?id=162

But I have some questions. Maybe if someone here is knowledged about the industry, they could answer or guide me to someone who can, answer.

1)Would the anime industry be Japan only? Is everything westeren just cartoon for kids. So if a person would be serious about it, they would have to move to japan?

2)Would an animator be a good job to have in 10 years? I mean, I have heard that CGI movies like Toy Story, Monsters Inc and Finding Nemo are talking over the animation industry, and that the art of drawing will soon die or fade away, unless someone would become a manga or comic book artist.

3)Is the road to becoming an animator a long one? Would it be possible to eventualy make a career for yourself or go higher? Maybe if you're skilled, being able to create your own thing. I understand that studios and publishers just won't take another persons ideas or designs, but if they worked hard from the bottom.

_______

I just think it's fun to draw, and I want to get better at it. So I was thinking of trying to make a living off it! And anime is one of my favorite hobbies.