• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Can an american become an anime artist?

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Anime News Network Forum Index -> General -> Anime
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nervheadquarters

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 6:53 pm Reply with quote
Can an american become an anime artist?I am 15 and i have been practicing drawing anime for 3 years.When I get older I want to draw anime series, but I have no clue how to get into the anime business and becoming a professional.Do i have to go to certain college or university?Is the college or university in Japan or the US? Do I have to live in Japan? Do i need to know japanese?If anyone can answer this i would be very greatful! I really want to do this when i grow up.
one3rd

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 9:38 pm Reply with quote
Yes, if you really want to get into the industry as an artist, you'll want to learn Japanese, move to Japan, and then start at the very bottom in the industry like everyone else.
Nagisa

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 9:47 pm Reply with quote
Not to nitpick, but this should also probably go in the Anime forum.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address My Anime My Manga
cookie
Former ANN Editor in Chief

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:19 pm Reply with quote
nervheadquarters wrote:
Can an american become an anime artist?

The short answer is "Yes, but it's not likely":
animenewsnetwork.com/columns/answerman.php?id=162

The longer answer is "Yes, but it's really not likely OR worthwhile":
http://www.janscottfrazier.com/animinjp/index.htm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website My Anime My Manga
jsyxx

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:23 pm Reply with quote