• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Anime Overperforms - An Analysis of Netflix's 2023 Viewership Data

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Note: this is the discussion thread for this article

Anime News Network Forum Index -> Site-related -> Talkback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Glordit

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2024 9:33 am Reply with quote
So, Netflix where's the rest of "Fout Knights of the Apocalypse"?
Beatdigga

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2024 10:18 am Reply with quote
I remember way back in the day when Adult Swim would air their ratings highlights, which was mostly there to crow about the popularity of their originals (and Family Guy) and the unpopularity of their anime in comparison. In addition to turning a generation of anime fans into self taught Nielsen data experts, it’s really funny to look at those ratings in comparison to Netflix’s reports and just how badly the adult animated comedies did in comparison.

For reference, two shows debuted on the same day during the six months that this list covered, Captain Fall, and Baki Hanma. Captain Fall managed to get only 5 million viewers and ranked at #391, where it was canceled. Baki was at #80, more popular than Sonic Prime (which surprised the hell out of me) and got around triple that. Funny the way the worm has turned. Still not as bad as Inside Job, whose parts were #818 and #988 respectively.
Seagloom

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2024 12:53 pm Reply with quote
Those numbers for My Happy Marriage are not surprising to me given my personal experience with it. It was one of the few series last year I could easily recommend to family who do not normally watch anime, but are open to trying out a show that appeals to them. Everyone I recommended My Happy Marriage to enjoyed it; with my mom in particular loving it.
BadNewsBlues